The CarbFix Team

CarbFix was founded by four partners in 2007: The University of Iceland, CNRS in Toulouse, the Earth Institute at Columbia University in New York and Reykjavik Energy. Since then, partners from over 20 institutes and universities, with over 100 people have contributed to the project, thereof a number of PhD and MS students as well as engineers and technicians.

Current activities within the CarbFix project are carried out by partners of the EU-funded project CarbFix2, which aims on moving the demonstrated CarbFix technology from the demonstration phase to a general and economically viable complete CCS chain that can be used through Europe and throughout the world. 

The partners


The team

  • Reykjavík Energy:

    • Edda Sif Aradóttir - project manager, leader of WP1, WP6 and WP7

    • Bergur Sigfússon - innovation manager, deputy project manager

    • Sandra Ósk Snæbjörnsdóttir


  • CNRS

    • Eric H. Oelkers - leader of WP4 and WP6

    • Chiara Marieni - postdoctoral researcher


  • University of Iceland

    • Sigurður Reynir Gíslason - leader of WP3

    • Martin Voigt - postdoctoral researcher

    • Deirdre Clark - PhD student


  • Amphos 21

    • Fidel Grandia - leader of WP3

    • Alvaro Sainz-Garcia

  • Climeworks

    • Dominique Kronenberg - leader of WP2

    • Benjamin Keusch


The external advisory board

  • Dr. Adrian P. Jones, RL Hayman Reader of Petrology, UCL, a founding member of the Deep Carbon Observatory

  • Dr. Juerg Matter, University of Southampton and coordinator of the Oman deep drilling project

  • Dr. Alexander Pisch, CNRS Research Associate  and former R&D program manager at LafargeHolcim

  • Dr. Andrew Putnis, Director, TIGeR and Curtin University

  • Professor Dave Goldberg, LDEO

  • Dr. Helen Williams, University of Cambridge

  • Prof. Dr. Liane G. Benning, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences

  • Prof. Ralf R. Haese, Chair of Geological Carbon Storage & Deputy Director, University of Melbourne