Board and management

The Board of Directors at Reykjavik Energy is appointed by the Reykjavík and Akranes City Councils. Reykjavík appoints five members and Akranes appoints one member. The Borgarbyggð Council appoints a special representative.

Board of Directors:

  • Brynhildur Davídsdóttir - Chairman of the Board
  • Gylfi Magnússon - Vice Chair
  • Sigrídur Rut Júlíusdóttir
  • Kjartan Magnússon
  • Hildur Björnsdóttir
  • Guðjón Viðar Guðjónsson.
  • Halldóra Lóa Þorvaldsdóttir (non-voting representative of Borgarbyggð)


Mr. Bjarni Bjarnason is OR´s CEO. Mr. Bjarnason holds a B.Sc. in geology from the University of Iceland (1981) and a licentiat in mining engineering from Luleå University of Technology (1986). Before joining OR, Bjarnason was CEO of Landsvirkjun Power. He has held various senior, managerial positions in his professional career, including Technical Director of the Icelandic Drilling Company LTD, Director of the Diatomite Plant at Mývatnssveit and CEO of Elkem Iceland. Mr. Bjarnason was Vice President of the International Hydropower Association and now sits on The International Geothermal Association's Board of Directors.